APEC is the premier Asia-Pacific economic forum. Its primary goal is to support sustainable economic growth and prosperity in the Asia-Pacific region. UL has been a sponsor and participant in the APEC CEO Summit for the past eight years.

Our partnership with top business and government leaders at APEC supports our combined goals to champion trade and investment, promote and accelerate regional economic integration, encourage economic and technical cooperation, and facilitate a favorable and sustainable business environment.

We believe partnerships between business and government are instrumental in achieving our collective ambitions. For more than a century, UL has been a trusted partner to governments, manufacturers, retailers and consumers. UL continues to be dedicated to meeting the needs of our rapidly changing marketplace, facilitating global trade and delivering peace of mind.

Summit Dialogue on Asia Pacific Connectivity

Monday, October 7, 2013
8:30AM – 9:30AM

Discussion Points

How connected is the Asia-Pacific region?

How is connectivity changing business as usual?

What are the main impediments to regional connectivity (e.g., infrastructure, policy) and how can we overcome them?

Dialogue participants:
Keith Williams, President and CEO, UL
Frank Appel, Chairman and CEO, Deutsche Post DHL
Scott Price, President and CEO, Walmart Asia
Terry Tai-Ming Gou, Chairman, Foxconn
Tan Sri Tony Fernandes, Group CEO, AirAsia

Moderated by: Peter Gontha, Publisher, BeritaSatu Media Holdings

More about APEC

What Is Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)?
Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, or APEC, is the premier forum for facilitating economic growth, cooperation, trade and investment in the Asia-Pacific region. APEC has 21 members – referred to as “Member Economies” – which account for approximately 40 percent of the world’s population, approximately 55 percent of world GDP and about 44 percent of world trade. APEC’s 21 Member Economies are Australia; Brunei Darussalam; Canada; Chile; Hong Kong, China; People’s Republic of China; Indonesia; Japan; Republic of Korea; Malaysia; Mexico; New Zealand; Papua New Guinea; Peru; The Republic of the Philippines; The Russian Federation; Singapore; Chinese Taipei; Thailand; United States of America; Vietnam.

What Are APEC’s Purpose and Goals?
APEC was established in 1989 to further enhance economic growth and prosperity for the region and to strengthen the Asia-Pacific community. Since its inception, APEC has worked to reduce tariffs and other trade barriers across the Asia-Pacific region, creating efficient domestic economies and dramatically increasing exports. Free and open trade and investment helps economies grow, creates jobs and provides greater opportunities for international trade and investment. APEC also works to create an environment for the safe and efficient movement of goods, services and people across borders in the region through policy alignment and economic and technical cooperation.